The Museum Space «Okolnyi Castle» is a new tourist attraction created on the basis of restored architectural monuments of national importance: the Chortoryiski princes tower with part of the defensive wall and the Jesuit Monastery with its dungeons.
The Chortoryiski princes tower is one of four stone towers and the only one preserved to this day from the Lower (Okolnyi) Castle. It broadens the horizon of the very concept of “Lutsk Castle,” complementing the standard modern view of it with an understanding of a much larger territory and historical perspective. It is a preserved fragment of the Lower Castle, which
was several times larger than the familiar Upper Castle.
The highlight of the Museum Space «Okolnyi Castle» is the iconic Lutsk dungeons. It is a creative museum space consisting of 18 cleared rooms and 4 galleries. They house the Gallery of Knighthood, an exhibition on the educational process at the Jesuit College, a multimedia system with an interactive smart board, VR glasses, a silicone figure of a Jesuit monk, and a hologram of a ghost.
We invite you to discover new pages in the history of our city and enjoy a journey through time! The Museum Space «Okolnyi Castle» is definitely worth seeing!
Daily
summer time
10 a.m. – 7 p.m.
winter time
10 a.m. – 6 a.m.
Independent viewing of the exhibition costs:
150 UAH for adults (aged 14 and over)
80 UAH for children (aged 6 to 14) and pensioners
The cost of the self-guided tour includes an audio guide.
A guided tour costs:
800 UAH (from 1 to 5 people);
1100 UAH (from 6 to 10 people);
1500 UAH (from 11 to 20 people);
2100 UAH (from 21 to 30 people).
The virtual reality tour costs 100 UAH.
Adress: Lutsk Castle, Kafedralna st., 6
Phone number: +38 067 269 43 42
Website: https://okolnyi-lutsk.com/en/
We invite you to visit the main tourist site of Lutsk – a medieval castle of the XIV century. It won first place in the category “castles” of the All-Ukrainian competition “Seven Wonders of Ukraine: castles, palaces, fortresses”.
Mision of the museum is to create museum institution of the highest level that changes past, reflects present and creates future to develop the nation spirituality and promote Ukrainian art in the world. Here you can see the largest painting in the world – “Cosmogony”, covering an area of over 2000 square meters.
The Chortoryiski princes Tower is the only one of the 8 towers of the Lutsk Lower (Okolnyi) Castle that has survived to this day. The Museum space «Okolnyi Castle» is a modern historical part of the defensive structure of Lutsk from the 14th – 17th centuries. The Upper Lutsk Castle was rebuilt from wooden fortifications to stone ones between the late 14th and 15th centuries. The first line of defensive of the Upper Castle, the Okolnyi Castle, began its transformation in the early 16th century, when wooden towers were gradually replaced with stone structures.
In addition to the above-ground city, Lutsk has an extensive network of underground tunnels. The two levels of the underground city housed sacred objects, a refectory, a prison, and tombs. There are many legends about the unique two-level underground complex, the entrance to which is located beneath the Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul. Their height is particularly impressive, reaching almost 8 meters in some places.
Lutheran church (now Baptist) in Lutsk an architectural monument, located on Karaimska Street, 1 in the State Historical and Cultural Reserve “Old Lutsk”.
The Museum Space «Okolnyi Castle» is a new tourist attraction created on the basis of restored architectural monuments of national importance: the Chortoryiski princes tower with part of the defensive wall and the Jesuit Monastery with its dungeons.