Lutsk Castle
We invite you to visit the main tourist site of Lutsk – a medieval castle of the XIV century. It won first place in the category “castles” of the All-Ukrainian competition “Seven Wonders of Ukraine: castles, palaces, fortresses”.
The Chortoryiski princes Tower
The Chortoryiski princes Tower is the only one of the 8 towers of the Lutsk Lower (Okolnyi) Castle that has survived to this day. The Museum space «Okolnyi Castle» is a modern historical part of the defensive structure of Lutsk from the 14th – 17th centuries. The Upper Lutsk Castle was rebuilt from wooden fortifications to stone ones between the late 14th and 15th centuries. The first line of defensive of the Upper Castle, the Okolnyi Castle, began its transformation in the early 16th century, when wooden towers were gradually replaced with stone structures.
The dungeons of St. Peter and Paul Cathedral
In addition to the above-ground city, Lutsk has an extensive network of underground tunnels. The two levels of the underground city housed sacred objects, a refectory, a prison, and tombs. There are many legends about the unique two-level underground complex, the entrance to which is located beneath the Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul. Their height is particularly impressive, reaching almost 8 meters in some places.
Lutheran Church
Lutheran church (now Baptist) in Lutsk an architectural monument, located on Karaimska Street, 1 in the State Historical and Cultural Reserve “Old Lutsk”.
House of the sculptor Mykola Holovan
In addition to Lutsk Castle, there is another interesting building on the banks of the river Styr. It has already been called the Second Castle or local house with chimeras. This masterpiece is owned by Mykola Holovan, who has been creating it for almost 40 years.
St. Peter and Paul Cathedral
St. Peter and Paul Cathedral. The temple and the adjoining collegium were built between 1616 and 1639 and designed by the Italian architect Giacomo Briano. A group of European architects contributed to the improvement and certain changes in the structure of the Lutsk Church of the Jesuit order.
Trylinka
On September 15, 1933, the Polish engineer Wladyslaw Trylinski was issued a patent No18232 for hexagonal concrete pavers (paving stones) used for paving roads and sidewalks.
House of the Kosach family
House of the Kosach family is well known for being a home for genius poetess Lesya Ukrainka. Nowadays, there is administration
of Historical and Cultural Reserve “Old Town” and a room-museum “Lesya’s Living Room”.